Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is seeing the privates of the opposite sex for educational purposes permissible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is seeing the privates of the opposite sex for educational purposes permissible?

Assalamualaikum,

Full disclosure: I do live in the US so our school system isn't like the UK.

I started university this year. In America, even though you might be majoring in finance for example, you still have to take classes on wildly different subjects because they're a requirement in order for you to graduate (for example, you might have to take a women and gender studies class just for graduation requirements). Keeping this in mind, I am taking a psychology class for graduation requirements (my major is chemistry).
    Personally, if I don't do things ahead of time, I will get lazy and not do anything at all so I always read a few chapters ahead of everyone else just to keep me stimulated as well as understand what I'll be learning. I was reading a few days ago the next few chapters and they've horrified me. There is an entire chapter on biological psychology (which is not what has horrified me) but the fact that it had full human anatomies flat out on the page. I quickly slammed the book shut before getting a glimpse of anything on the male anatomy.
    I am a woman and have never seen a penis (I'm assuming everyone in this chat will be grown up enough and be able to talk like adults). Every time someone talks about one, I gag and tell them to stop talking. Seeing as I am now taking a psychology class, is it ok for me to see it for educational purposes?
    Understand that had I had intentions to become a doctor, I would have probably had to get over my shyness the minute I got accepted to university. But I have no intentions of going to med school or being a doctor. It's simply one class that I have to take to get over with.