Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Halal Ice Cream?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Halal Ice Cream?

    Asalam wa3alaikom waRahmatuAllah

    I recieved this as an email, and in all honesty some of the details broke my heart (white magnum!)

    but I thought I would share it, feel free to do your own research beyond this list, as there seems to be some discrepencies regarding whey, rennet & alcohol. I know for rennet there is difference of opinion amongst the madhabs, but again this is something you can look into for yourselves depending on who\what you follow.

    As the weather hots up we like to sometimes cool off with an Ice Cream. We may check if its suitable for vegetarian, but how many of us stop to check if it contains Alcohol.

    Below is a reply to a letter a brother sent to Walls Ice Cream inquiring about its suitability for its Muslim customers.

    Jezek Allah khairan.



    Dear Mr Abbsi

    Thank you for contacting the Wall”s Care line regarding the suitability of Wall’s Ice Cream for a Muslim and Vegetarian Diet.
    I am pleased that you are interested in our products and I hope you will find the lists useful in deciding which Ice Creams are suitable for your diet.
    Please refer to the list below as some of our Ice Cream do contain traces of alcohol and would not be suitable for a Muslim diet. I have also enclosed a list of Ice Creams that are suitable for Vegetarians.
    I hope you will continue to enjoy our products and should you require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Muslim Suitability:

    Magnum Classic - Not suitable
    Magnum White - Not suitable
    Magnum Almond - Not suitable
    Magnum Ecuador - Not suitable
    Magnum Colombia - Not suitable
    Mint Magnum -Yes
    Magnum Double Chocolate - Not suitable
    Magnum Double Caramel -Not Suitable
    Magnum Caramel and Nuts -Not Suitable

    Solero Exotic -Not Suitable
    Solero Smootie Strawberry -Not Suitable
    Solero Smootie Blackberry -Yes

    Frusi Exotic/Raspberry -Yes
    Frusi Fruits of forest -Yes
    Frusi Pineapple/Raspberry -Yes
    120ml Cups Vanilla - Not suitable
    120ml Cups Strawberry -Yes
    120ml Cups Chocolate -Yes
    120ml Cups Mint -Yes
    Cornetto Classico 125ml - Not Suitable
    Cornetto Choco Disc 125ml -Yes
    Cornetto Mint -Yes
    Cornetto Classico 90ml -Yes
    Cornetto Strawberry 90ml -Yes
    Cornetto Mint 90ml -Yes
    Cornetto Chocolate 90ml -Yes
    Calippo Straw Tropical -Not Suitable
    Calippo Orange 150ml -Yes
    Chunky Choc Ice -Yes
    Milk Time Strawberry Pot -Not Suitable
    Milk Time Biscuit Stick -Not Suitable
    Mini Milk Strawberry -Not Suitable
    Mini Mlik Vanilla -Not Suitable
    Mini Milk Chocolate -Not Suitable
    Milk Time Strawberry -Not Suitable
    Frutie -Yes
    Strawberry Split -Not Suitable
    Simpson’s Sour Fizz -Not Suitable
    Lemonade Sparkles -Not Suitable
    Twister -Not Suitable
    Chocolate Feast -Not Suitable
    Viennetta Mint -Not Suitable
    Viennetta Vannila -Yes
    Cream of Cornish -Yes
    Vanilla Soft Scoop -Yes
    Vanilla Soft Scoop Light -Yes
    Mini Choc Chip -Yes
    Raspberry Ripple -Not suitable
    Neapolitan -Not suitable
    Chocolate -Yes
    CDO Spagnola -Not Suitable
    CDO Lavazza -Not Suitable
    CDO Greek Yoghurt & Honey -Yes
    CDO Strawberry & Yoghurt Delice -Not Suitable
    CDO Triple Chocolate -Yes
    CDO Crema di Mascarpone -Not Suitable
    CDO Vanilla -Not Suitable
    CDO Vanilla Light -Not Suitable

    Please note these are only guidelines. Whether or not many Muslim consumer regard these as prohibited is, apart from where products contain gelatine, largely a matter of personal choice. The GMWA Halal Food Guide classes many of the above products as permitted, stipulating that alcohol is not unlawful when used as a colour carrier. They also have information on a Fatwa which allows the consumption of products containing calf rennet, present in many cheeses and syrups as well as ice cream.
    I found this on the GMWA website which explains what it is about the products that makes them haram: http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/in...e=viewquestion

    and also has some stuff about alcohol and rennet which I'm not to sure about but you can read into.

    so yeah, BarakAllah Feek.

    "How often we cry over Fate, but abundant good lies just behind it. O soul, it is goodness, even if it arrives after a while."


    Foulana blog



    #2
    Re: Halal Ice Cream?

    I have a feeling this is old news, but still insha'Allah khayr for those like me who haven't seen this before.

    "How often we cry over Fate, but abundant good lies just behind it. O soul, it is goodness, even if it arrives after a while."


    Foulana blog


    Comment


      #3
      Re: Halal Ice Cream?

      I frankly gave up caring about these trivial little stuff. I'll eat anyway.

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Halal Ice Cream?

        OMG it's like my hearts broken now. I think i'm gonna cry lool I can still enjoy cornetto strawberry an i guess no more magnum. :( :jkk: sis for this

        An i got a text about flora saying that only the original is suitable fore vegetarians an the rest aren't.
        (The hypocrites) will call the believers: "Were we not with you?" The believers will reply: "Yes! But you led yourselves into temptations, you looked forward for our destruction; you doubted (in Faith); and you were deceived by false desires, till the Command of Allah came to pass. And the chief deceiver (Satan) deceived you in respect of Allah."57:14

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Halal Ice Cream?

          I Don Beileve This Because I Check All Mine And They All Say Veggie "/ Also With Flora I Buy That And It Does Say Suitable For Veggies. I Think People Make Up These Things To Damage Companies Maybe Cause They Are jewish I Dunno ".
          And He found you lost and guided you,
          ~ Qur'an (Ad Duhaa) 93:7 ~

          Salaah Reminders

          Guide us to the straight pain.
          " Ihdina-s-sirata-l-mustaqim "
          ~ Quran 1:6 ~

          الله أعلم

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Halal Ice Cream?

            Some of them are veggie friendly but have alcohol in them.
            "And We will remove whatever is in their breasts of resentment, [so they will be] brothers, on thrones facing each other."
            Al Hijr: 47

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Halal Ice Cream?

              Of course, ice cream 's Halal, but it shouldn't be any wine or anything HaraM.

              Comment


                #8
                Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                nooooooooo! what have they done to ice cream!!

                Comment


                  #9
                  Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                  :wswrwb:

                  :jkk:

                  you should really get ice creams that say suitable for vegetarian...then all you need to worry about is the alchohol, which the same website mentions about anyway.(flavouring)
                  check out this blog>>>http://myworldmuslimah.wordpress.com/

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                    Originally posted by Asma-SE View Post
                    Some of them are veggie friendly but have alcohol in them.
                    You Know I Never Fort About Alchol "/ I Mean Kiddies Have That AstugfirAllah Can This World Not Live With Out Alholo I Cant Spell It Sori And They Know That Their Biggest Target Age IS Kids !!!!
                    And He found you lost and guided you,
                    ~ Qur'an (Ad Duhaa) 93:7 ~

                    Salaah Reminders

                    Guide us to the straight pain.
                    " Ihdina-s-sirata-l-mustaqim "
                    ~ Quran 1:6 ~

                    الله أعلم

                    Comment


                      #11
                      Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                      Originally posted by stephenoskie View Post
                      You Know I Never Fort About Alchol "/ I Mean Kiddies Have That AstugfirAllah Can This World Not Live With Out Alholo I Cant Spell It Sori And They Know That Their Biggest Target Age IS Kids !!!!
                      Mmmm kids ice cream......
                      "And We will remove whatever is in their breasts of resentment, [so they will be] brothers, on thrones facing each other."
                      Al Hijr: 47

                      Comment


                        #12
                        Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                        i used to love solero and twister but aint had it for 2 years... i came on this thread thinking insha'Allah they have been made halal LOL jazakAllahu khayr for the thread sister
                        http://www.deenulhuq.wordpress.com

                        Don't depend on anyone too much in this world because even your own shadow leaves you when you are in darkness ~ibn taymiyyah

                        Comment


                          #13
                          Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                          Damn, me and mum did shopping and got mini magnum classics. We already had to throw some of the yogurts away and they not vegeterian and now these ice creams. Damn it.

                          What can we eat *sobs and eats magnum ice cream, wait realises, can't eat throws away and cries even more*
                          Ask Allah for everything, even if it is only a shoe-lace, beacuse if Allah does not make it easy, then it will not be possible

                          Comment


                            #14
                            Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                            But Hey :insha: Halal Ice Cream Comes Out. Is Kulfi Halal Me Likes :love:
                            And He found you lost and guided you,
                            ~ Qur'an (Ad Duhaa) 93:7 ~

                            Salaah Reminders

                            Guide us to the straight pain.
                            " Ihdina-s-sirata-l-mustaqim "
                            ~ Quran 1:6 ~

                            الله أعلم

                            Comment


                              #15
                              Re: Halal Ice Cream?

                              Wow... Some of my favourite ice creams :( I am actually quite upset lol.
                              SPREAD OF EVIL
                              ZIONISM
                              BOLLYWOOD

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X