Do you agree with this potential?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you agree with this potential?

So, a sister was looking for a wife for her brother and she asked me if I was looking and if I had any questions. I was like, sure, and I asked if the brother would mind moving down to where I originally lived because I'm studying away from home rn and am so homesick. My exact words were "how does he feel about moving to (my city)?"

She kinda went all weird with me and was like, he doesn't really like this attitude of one half of the couple making demands like "I am doing this or that" because in his view that is not good because you're supposed to be open to the possibilities as you don't know what the future holds. I lowkey felt like I was being told off and this was question #1! She said he has met other girls and they have said similar things e.g. "I want to move here or do x, y z" and apparently he doesn't like that because he thinks everything should be a joint decision? :scratch:

But my thing is...we ain't married yet. You're just a potential. So if there is a time to state your non-negotiables - it's now. Otherwise you're investing time into each other only to find out later down the road that you don't want the same things.

Hmmm...strange experience. Do you agree with this sentiment? I felt like I was being bullied into a corner a bit - like "you should have no opinions or vision for your future! You should just go with the flow even if the current is flowing in a direction you don't want it to". Or is she right? Should you always be flexible on things that are not deen related?
    And when it is said to them, "Do not cause corruption on the earth," they say, "We are but reformers." (11) Unquestionably, it is they who are the corrupters, but they perceive [it] not. (12) - Surat al-Baqarah
    http://www.ummzakiyyah.com/polygamy_not_my_problem/

Re: Do you agree with this potential?