African American Muslims & Polygyny

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• African American Muslims & Polygyny

I'm a documentary filmmaker and producer based out of Seattle. I'm looking to create a docu-series for television that features a black, muslim family that practices polygyny. It will explore day-to-day life as a family, faith and beliefs, and be a story in your own words.

What is it like to have more than one wife? What is it like to be a co-wife? What are the benefits? The challenges? What are the misconceptions people have?

The show "Sister Wives" has made white, mormon, polygamists the face of plural marriage, and has had great success. This could be a chance to tell a NEW story and get rid of some stereotypes about Islam and polygyny along the way.

If you and your family are interested in speaking with me further, feel free to send me a message.

Lmao
    “Have you seen he who has taken as his god his [own] desire, and Allah has sent him astray due to knowledge and has set a seal upon his hearing and his heart and put over his vision a veil? So who will guide him after Allah ? Then will you not be reminded? And they say, “There is not but our worldly life; we die and live, and nothing destroys us except time.” And they have of that no knowledge; they are only assuming.” Quran 45:23-24

Comment

Re: African American Muslims & Polygyny

It's a mostly UK based forum, there are some American reverts on here but don't know which of them are afro-American or in a polygamous marriage.
      FOLLOW THE NEW BLOG - GINGERBEARDMAN - Muslim, father, husband, writer, defender of ginger rights!

www.facebook.com/outreach4Islam - Outreach4Islam have been working together in Leicester, calling the not yet Muslims to Islam since 2006.

Comment

Originally posted by Gingerbeardman View Post
        It's a mostly UK based forum, there are some American reverts on here but don't know which of them are afro-American or in a polygamous marriage.