Do you have to have a Walima?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you have to have a Walima?

I recently had gotten engaged and my bride to be and I will be talking about our wedding plans soon. From what I've seen with most Desi weddings, there is generally a Nikkah, however we have no interest in a party and were just going to invite a few close family members to get our marriage legalized. Afterwards the mehndii, shaadi and walima. I am 100% cool with the mehndi and the shaadi however I want to ask my fiance if we can skip the walima

1. My parents have both passed away and I will have to pay for my half of everything by myself. I am a grad school student and I would rather spend the money that would put toward a walima on something else such as going toward a house

2. I feel that a third celebration is a bit excessive. I'm honestly not even looking forward to the Shaadi since it's going to be 4 hours of photographers taking pictures.

Is it common for couples to skip the walima? I'm sure that if I talk to my fiance and explain this to her she'll be understanding. Also my brothers are both married, the first one didn't even have a Shaadi, they just had the mehndi and walima. My other brother only had the mehndi and shaadi.

Re: Do you have to have a Walima?

Originally posted by teresec View Post
    I recently had gotten engaged and my bride to be and I will be talking about our wedding plans soon. From what I've seen with most Desi weddings, there is generally a Nikkah, however we have no interest in a party and were just going to invite a few close family members to get our marriage legalized. Afterwards the mehndii, shaadi and walima. I am 100% cool with the mehndi and the shaadi however I want to ask my fiance if we can skip the walima