How do you tell your parents?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you tell your parents?

Basically, I have a job (in fact two), will go to university inshallah, but I don't see this as a hindrance or a reason to delay getting married.

My parents would want me to wait to get married, they'd prefer it if I graduated first. But personally, I don't want to wait that long and I feel really ready and up for it. If we start the search now, it would still take a while to find the one, so I should have an uni place by then inshallah.

I am wondering how I should tell them? How did you tell your mum? I am quite nervous and shy about it.

My mum wouldn't mind me getting married now, but they are Asian parents, so they do tend to say different things all the time so their opinion isn't stable. :S

So how should I tell them?:scratch::scratch::scratch:

Re: How do you tell your parents?

Well talk to the person whom you are closer to so it makes it easier.

You just have to bring the topic up like 'Mum/dad...I'm something years old now and I feel like I'm ready to get married..'

But first, make a list of all the possible reasons they would give you to suggest you're not ready to get married and then prepare a counter argument for each one.

Comment

This is excellent naseeha sister. I will be posting my list so we can have a mock trial?

Comment

:salams:

I just told my mum and she was thinking I'm such a besharam brat (well, her silence explained it all)

OH WELL

4 or 5 ( I think, have actually forgotton now :-/) years down the line NOTHING worked, obviously they are trying very hard to get rid of me but I'm still here

ROCKING IT. Being single is being free- I'm not even joking. But obviously looking for a spouse gets harder as you get older, my parents are stressing out unfortunately.