Why the under cover racism?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why the under cover racism?

I am a Caucasian Muslim who has been practicing Islam for over twenty years. I have a master's degree in Islamic Studies and Insha-Allah am attending the University of Medina this fall to get my PhD. My question is this, why is it that people are good enough to give khutbah for jumah prayer and lead prayers at the masjid but when looking for a wife I am told that I cannot marry someone because she is an Arab and I am not? Will we as Muslims ever get rid of the stereotypes that we carry with us?

Re: Why the under cover racism?

Yes many people in the Ummah are exceptionally racist and hold tribal customs dearly to their heart. It's an utter shame.

Comment

I don't think it's racism.. its matter of preference!
      "The objective behind Shari'ah is to liberate individuals from his desires in order to be a true Abd (slave) of Allah and that is the legitimate Maslaha... Violating the Shari'ah under the pretext of following Maqasid al-Shari'ah is like the one who cares about the spirit without the body and since the body without the spirit is useless therefore the spirit without the body is useless too." ~ Imam Shatibi - The greatest intellectual founder of Maqasid al-Shari'ah

Comment

Originally posted by Salman Al-Farsi View Post
        I don't think it's racism.. its matter of preference!
        To further explain, the sister wanted to marry me also and she was Saudi. Her father said no because I wasn't an Arab. (his words).

Comment

Originally posted by Isa1978 View Post
          To further explain, the sister wanted to marry me also and she was Saudi. Her father said no because I wasn't an Arab. (his words).
          Sabr Akhee! insha'Allah you'll find someone more suitable and since Ramadhan is coming up concentrate on Ramadhan and make extra Du'a.