Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rejecting a really good proposal

:salams Dear fellow muslims,

I am in a situation and need your opinion. I recently rejected a really really good proposal. Inshallah I dont regret this:embar:... so I just want to know that I am doing the right thing here.

I got a proposal from a family friend. Mashallah everything was great. Our families have known each other since before I was born. The brother was mashallah amazing, very compatible and everything. But there is one big problem, because of which I had to reject this proposal.

The problem is with my studies. I am studying in a different place and I wont be done for a while. The brother cant come to that place and he wants to get settled wherever he is. My parents put a lot of money and effort into my studies and I am half way done with it. The only way we could work things out would be for me to leave my studies.

I know it seems unreasonable that I rejected such a good proposal just because I want to pursue my studies, which frankly speaking is not even an obligation upon a muslimah. I also know that marriage is more important in islam. I am not one of those career-oriented women who would put their career before their family. I very much want to have a nice family. And this might sound weird but I cant wait to be a mother inshallah :D Its one of my dreams actually because I absolutely love love love children and cant wait to have my own inshallah!