Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused... need some advice?e

AssalamuAlikum,

I have some confusion about my circumstances and thought some outsider advice might offer clarity. 

I am in my late twenties and looking for a spouse. I am also a doctor and plan on working after my marriage. I want to marry someone in the same profession as me and finding a lot of difficulty. My parents want to go back and find someone from their country, which I’m hesitant about.

I have worked very hard and put a lot of effort in my life to get where I am. So many sleepless nights and putting most of my youth aside to single-mindedly complete my education. Alhamdulillah, all of that is done but I’m facing difficulty finding someone the same caliber as me. You see, after all that I want some peace  of mind and ease in my life now. I feel like someone in my profession would understand the long hours and nights in the hospital - be more accommodating. If we have a similar income, I can have the option to take time off when we have children. I know couples where the women worked while the men raised the kids because she earned more to make ends meet. I don’t want that. My mother was a housewife and spent so much time on us - I want to be there for my kids. I want my husband to take initiative so I can have some ease.

If I marry back in their country, I will have more responsibility to bear and I don’t know if I can. I’m mentally exhausted and just the thought of the years of financial support, paperwork, and effort to have someone adjust is putting me off of marriage. I’ve had previous proposals back from their country and family members told me it was only for my passport. I don’t want to be used like that. My mother wants to go back and find someone, but I’m reluctant.