Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Average Haq Mehr in the USA in 2018.

Salam,
    I am new in the United States and do not have a lot of family and friends here. I have no idea how marriage proposals work here and I am pursuing a potential proposal all on my own. I have spoken to the girl's father and all seems to be going well, Alhamdulillah. I know that the conversation about the haq mehr is right around the corner and I wanna be prepared for that. What do you guys think is the average amount mehr that would be acceptable for the girl and her family? We both belong to upper-middle-class families and I'm currently pursuing my Master's degree in engineering. I do not want to offend her by offering a low amount simply because I do not know how this works here in the US. I just need a rough ball-park figure. Any help on this topic would be highly appreciated! JazakAllah!
    Last edited by rexar; 10-10-18, 07:46 PM.

It is a wide range, I have seen $10-50K in the Bengali Americans living in Midwest. I don't know about other parts of the country. To be honest I don't know anyone who went over $30K in mehr but I did hear stories so I pushed the range up. Most I know are in ~$20K where they spend approximately $10K in wedding gold and outfits and agree to pay rest in future

Comment

salaams to all

whatever it is, if its IndoPak/Desi ppl, im sure it will be an extravagant amount.

u should explain that u dont have much bcos u are studying...they wont like that.

unfortunately, thats how it is.

and Allah ta'ala knows best
      jazakallah
      Sufyaan Thawri "Whoever is very popular with his relations and neighbours, we suspect him to be compromising in preaching the true teachings of religion."
      very good site for English bayaans in MP3 format-check it out- u wont be disappointed: http://www.musjidnoor.za.net/index.html & http://alhaadi.org.za/majlis-program...downloads.html

Comment