Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Islamic School, Public School, or Homeschool?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Islamic School, Public School, or Homeschool?

This is dedicated to a wonderful contributor to this forum and passionate person who loves being productive and providing awareness on many issues. I learn alot from each and every one of her posts. [MENTION=130569]Oum Soumayyah[/MENTION] this is long overdue, I'm sorry sis.:o

I am not an expert on the topic (although I did think of bringing in proper research and everything, didn't have the time) but I thought I might give some tips on homeschooling, say a bit about my own experiences and advice in general. I'm not a parent, but someone who grew up in the West. I've been through all three methods of schooling and hope to give some insight about what worked well for me and what you must consider when choosing a schooling method for your kids insha allah.

For my younger years I went to public school. As a kid I was surrounded by other siblings and my parents were really busy people, so unfortunately I didn't care much about praying and stuff, although my mother (may Allah reward her) was very pious and taught me to pray, read Qur'an and everything.I've never heard of stories of the Prophets, and barely knew about Muhammad (saw). To be honest was disappointing because I knew a ton about Christmas, Jesus, his origins, all that stuff they teach in history. That's when I started taking Qur'an (Tafseer) classes and for the first time I started taking salah seriously,covering my arms, bringing a mat to school even.What brought me closer was the simple fact that Quran actually had meaning (I always thought it was just Arabic). Anyway not to get too personal but things were pretty tough after that....peer pressure kicked in and my mom decided to try an alternative method of learning.