Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recommendations for Halal Vitamins?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Recommendations for Halal Vitamins?

    Assalamu alaikum

    I'm looking for vitamin/mineral supplements to buy in the UK which would be suitable for a halal or vegan diet. I've been trying to find supplements which don't contain any aspartame/artificial sweeteners (due to recent health scares).

    Can anyone recommend a brand or online store? Any advice would be appreciated.

    JazakAllahu khair.

    Masalaam
    Please Re-update your Signature

  • #2
    Try:

    http://www.healthspan.co.uk/articles...le.aspx?Id=110
    Please Re-update your Signature

    Comment


    • #3
      Salaams, and JazakAllahu khair
      Please Re-update your Signature

      Comment


      • #4
        I thought Solgar vitamins were suitable for vegans. They used to be available at Holland and Barrett, I'm not sure if they still are.
        Please Re-update your Signature

        Comment


        • #5
          i never go to the docters
          Please Re-update your Signature

          Comment


          • #6
            try boots...they have a good range of vegetarian/vegan vitamins

            Comment


            • #7
              tylenol it has camels urine which prophet mohammed used to cure headaches. that is relalyu great u know what i mean :) :) : : : :):) :) :)
              Please Re-update your Signature

              Comment


              • #8
                Yea we know what you mean. Camel pee is a staple part of all our diets.
                Please Re-update your Signature

                Comment


                • #9
                  Assalamu alaikum

                  JazakAllahu khair for your advice. I just realised after a google search that vegan doesn't actually mean it's halal as it could still contain alcohol:

                  http://www.halvit.com/halvit/prodfaq.php
                  Vitamin Product FAQ...
                  Q : If we do not see Gelatin listed on the product label, is it HALAL to use or is it suitable for consumption by Muslims.
                  A : Not necessarily! GELATIN is not the only Haram ingredient in a Multivitamin. For example, Some Vegetarian Multivitamin products may have Haram ingredients like Alcohol or other Mashbooh and Makrooh ingredients like Mono & Diglycerides and other proprietary ingredients may have been added, which do not need to be declared on the labels.

                  http://www.halalfoodauthority.co.uk/front.html
                  ...Particular attention is given to ethanol, alcohol and animal derivatives since these days a majority of pharmaceuticals and toiletries are made from or have some constituents, which can not be described as halal. Gelatine capsules are one example to be cited.


                  Some Halal vitamins:

                  IFANCA list of certified halal supplements:
                  http://www.ifanca.org/products/index.php?catId=69
                  (Healthspan http://www.healthspan.co.uk/ is on there)

                  Halvit http://www.halvit.com (usa, IFANCA certified)

                  Halal Vitamins http://www.halalvitamins.com/intro.htm

                  http://gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/viewqu...tID=4&compID=1
                  (Halal Foodguide Service Q&A)
                  Q: can you please tell me WELLWOMAN VITAMINS FROM VITABIOTICS halal?
                  A: According to the information provided we deem the following suitable for Muslims:
                  All the tablet range (with the exception of Jointace tablets) and Osteocare Fizz, Wellwoman Fizz, Wellman Fizz, Osteocare liquid, Feroglobin Liquid & Wellman drink are also all suitable for vegetarians and alcohol free. Apart from these none of the others are suitable for Muslims. see http://www.vitabiotics.com/index.aspx


                  Masalaam
                  Please Re-update your Signature

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by olivegrove
                    http://gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/viewqu...tID=4&compID=1
                    (Halal Foodguide Service Q&A)
                    Q: can you please tell me WELLWOMAN VITAMINS FROM VITABIOTICS halal?
                    A: According to the information provided we deem the following suitable for Muslims:
                    All the tablet range (with the exception of Jointace tablets) and Osteocare Fizz, Wellwoman Fizz, Wellman Fizz, Osteocare liquid, Feroglobin Liquid & Wellman drink are also all suitable for vegetarians and alcohol free. Apart from these none of the others are suitable for Muslims. see http://www.vitabiotics.com/index.aspx
                    Salaams

                    Not sure if Vitabiotics should be considered halal after all.
                    Their website FAQ section says:

                    Q:Are any of Vitabiotics capsule, tablet or liquid products Halal or Koshered?
                    A:At present they are not.
                    http://www.vitabiotics.com/help.aspx...tion=2&sm=19#3

                    This may just mean Vitabiotics have not officially been halal certified?
                    InshaAllah, maybe they should be avoided.

                    Masalaam
                    Please Re-update your Signature

                    Comment

                    Collapse

                    Edit this module to specify a template to display.

                    Working...
                    X