a) chemistry bachelor's
    b) chemistry master's degree
    c) biochemistry bachelor's or master's
    d) international affairs
    e) public policy
    f) chemical engineering
    g) economics
    sorry but people must have misunderstood what my "major dropbox" thread was
    Last edited by Striving for Janna; 23-06-16, 04:07 AM.

Re: Are these good college degrees?

Economically I think all of the above are good except for international affairs perhaps. Morally public policy might be bad if it is something like being a lawyer and includes lying, then international affairs could be bad too if the sortiment of jobs include such things as lying. Economics doesn't necessarily mean immorality, not all is ribaa, but a close relative of mine who is an economist earns almost 2x what I earn(I'm a software engineer, albeit junior developer still) working in a bank, when I remind her that she should find a job without haram traits she says she can't find a job without them, but then again she puts no effort into that because she's a weird muslim - not completely liberal, but more like rejecting Islam when it doesn't suit her, and using it when it suits her, self-worshiper is the right word I guess.
    Say what somebody can do instead of the haram if you want to help.

Comment

Originally posted by Striving for Janna View Post
      a) chemistry bachelor's
      d) international affairs
      e) public policy
      f) chemical engineering
      g) economics
      a) Yes
      b) Yes, definitely
      c) Yes
      d) meh. you'll need really good grades and you'll have to go into graduate school if you want to land a job
      e) no
      f) Hell yes
      g) Yes, but you could be traversing into potentially haram territory

Comment

Out of that list chemical engineering and economics seem to be the best in the sense leading to jobs. Personal opinion btw.
        Last edited by Khalid b. Walid; 23-06-16, 09:56 PM.

Comment