Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a failure at learning Arabic!! T-T

:salams:

My dad has been pushing me to learn Arabic for forever. He is not very good at it though so he can't teach me well. He's taught me a few things though. I'm mostly self taught at this point. On a level of 1-10, 1 being completely illiterate and 10 being an avid speaker, I'd say I'm a 3.

Through the last maybe 4 or 5 years, I've been studying on and off, but even the times where I was diligent and trying very hard and still I can't speak a lick of Arabic. I know most of the grammar rules and I can understand somewhat, but I can't speak. I think a large part may be because I am terrible in memory and my memorization of Qur'an is also not good.

I have tried many different books and even some online "classes" and I still fail. Let me put this out there that I was homeschooled for high school and I had troubles with focus and the whole "teach yourself" aspect. One of my local masjid's have an Arabic class but it's terrible. Their methods really suck and I don't know anyone there who can actually speak Arabic except the teacher, even though it's been a few years with the teacher (maybe not same students though).

My sister has Rosetta Stone. I did the first lesson and I liked it, but again, remembering the vocabulary is very hard for me. Rosetta Stone's lessons are very brief. I know all that they teach which seems to be grammar mostly, but I haven't moved on from lesson one because I still don't have the vocabulary. Has anyone here done Rosetta Stone?

It seems the only way that really works is going to an Arab country and being around Arabic.

I know Arabic is important but I lose motivation a lot as well. It has just been a very stressful journey for me trying to learn Arabic and unfortunately, there are no shortcuts. I am just very stressed and unmotivated especially after failing so much.