X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Struggling with Islam

Salaam,

I am new to this, so please bear with me,

I want to address a few issues I have been having with myself, I kindly request any form of debate be done in a civil manner - Thank you.

Firstly, the title suggests and cuts straight through the point - I am struggling with Islam and would like to explain my situation and I am seeking advice from anyone who can give genuine and respectable advice.

I live with a fairly practicing family - alhamdulillah everyone prays and there is no lack of faith except in me.
    It's not that I don't reject Islam - its just certain prospects that really worries me that I am sinning dearly. For instance, I travel to university in central London, I meet and converse with a range of people and thats led me to believe I am fairly open minded. One thing that I think I have trouble with is homosexuality - I know the general discipline on this matter is that its forbidden to act on homosexuality - thing is, I don't disapprove, I feel like if someone loves someone and treats them with respect - why should we disregard that? I just don't wan't to percieve someone in a ill manner like the fact they may go to hell? Its not my call on matters of akhirah but I have a hard time not sympathising for them?

Another issue is that I have tried to explain my faltering iman and lack of guidance to my parents' imam and he sways the subject whenever I ask a question and consults with them on my issues. I rather my faults be discussed neutrally.

I would admit I have stopped praying salaah and only do so when there is congregation and when i am confronted on it. I feel genuinely lost and I know the advice here is to resume salaah. I know this is my fault - i have deviated a lot in my path.