Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proper clothing for prayer

Asalamu Alaikum

I'm going to try and do the Maghrib prayer and Isha prayer tonight but this is still bothering me....I don't have proper clothing for prayer. But I do have loose fitting pajamas and a sweater I could wear to cover my hair, would that be okay? I mean the pajamas are really loose so I don't see why that wouldn't be okay, and would I need to cover my feet as well?

It's gonna be hard to wear those pajamas with my family lurking about but I think I can do it since during most of the prayer times I'm alone (except for Maghrib and Isha).

And I was asking Sirius this so don't take offense Sirius :p lol I just thought of the whole pajama thing when we got off Skype and I'd like to hear different opinions.

Sometimes new Muslims need to make makeshift hijabs lol.

Oh and can I also read off of a paper while I'm doing the prayers? I'm a newbie
    Last edited by brightesthour; 02-06-14, 02:03 AM.

Re: Proper clothing for prayer

This brings up another question...

Why do men and women need to dress modestly when they pray when they are in their homes? I can see if they are out in public or a masjid but when they are home Allah sees us in our not so modest clothes anyways (since we don't have to wear hijab at home).

Comment

When I first converted I wore (for prayer) a regular winter scarf orone of those triangle shrugs (hijab can be any scarf that covers), a floor length skirt or baggy sweat pants, and a long sweater.

GOOD LUCK!!!

Comment

السلام عليكم

"As long as the clothes she is wearing covers her awra properly, which is the whole body except the face, hands and feet, it would be permissible to pray in them."

- Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf

http://seekersguidance.org/ans-blog/...ire-for-women/

Comment

Originally posted by SofiaG View Post