Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ruling on working in a restaurant where 'alcohol' is served?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ruling on working in a restaurant where 'alcohol' is served?

As salaamu alaikum, brothers and sisters.

I've never worked before and I'm 20, couldn't go uni because of the student loan fees (riba/interest), and now I've been offered a job as a waiter (100%), only problem is that alcohol and wine will be sold and served but I've been told I don't have to touch it or serve it because of my religious beliefs. I really need the money, my parents keep pushing me to get a job and this is the first one I've got in 2 years, so you could imagine the difficulty.
    So what is the ruling on this?

I'd appreciate it if you could quote a fatwa from a trusted scholar concerning this issue.
    Jazakallah khair, may Allah, Most High, reward you for your efforts.

Re: Ruling on working in a restaurant where 'alcohol' is served?

Originally posted by Kazhium View Post
    As salaamu alaikum, brothers and sisters.

I've never worked before and I'm 20, couldn't go uni because of the student loan fees (riba/interest), and now I've been offered a job as a waiter (100%), only problem is that alcohol and wine will be sold and served but I've been told I don't have to touch it or serve it because of my religious beliefs. I really need the money, my parents keep pushing me to get a job and this is the first one I've got in 2 years, so you could imagine the difficulty.
    So what is the ruling on this?

I'd appreciate it if you could quote a fatwa from a trusted scholar concerning this issue.
    Jazakallah khair, may Allah, Most High, reward you for your efforts.
    Here is a fatwa as requested about the alcohol issue:
    http://islamqa.info/en/173073

---

You could have gone to Uni if you looked hard for a solution and you still can go to uni, without taking out a loan: