Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fasting for self-control & missed fasts

Assalamualaikum,

I know that we are reason for fasting is for the sake of Allah swt. What if we find ourselves fasting for Allah swt in addition to other reasons? I still have fasts that I have to make up from ones that I missed previously (I'm a sister). I've found that recently I'm quite lacking in focus, self-control, and generally well..almost ADD like. I'm a university student but I just get so distracted with the computer..sometimes it's not even facebook or youtube, it's just that I'll suddenly be curious about something totally random and find myself on the internet for hours. And if it's not the internet, I find myself looking through (non-school) books, or memorabilia or whatnot. To be honest, sometimes I really strongly dislike myself and am very frustrated at myself for getting distracted, using my time inefficiently, and time and time again finding myself unbearably stressed the few days before that exam or paper is due. I miss how diligent I used to be. I lose focus very quickly...I'll be working on a paper and then just a few minutes into it, I start thinking about..oh yeah, that Master's program I'm interested in..I should go check it out (<--just one example of my many distractions) ..and then find myself looking into this for an hour or more and I'm still at square one with my paper. Can I fast with the additional intention of gaining back my self-control? Or if I fear that this intention will surpass my intention for doing it for the sake of Allah swt...then what?? My fasts won't count right? Then what should I do? And what about those that also fast (in addition to doing it for the sake of Allah swt) to lose weight?

Also...if we have fasts we missed from years ago..what exactly do we have to do? I heard that in addition to making up for the missed fasts, that we also have to pay for/feed a certain amount of people or something like that??