Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I allowed to donate blood?

Assalaam Alikum.

The local Walmart where I work is having a blood drive (for donating blood) on Monday and I would like to donate some blood. I've never done this before.

Am I allowed to donate blood?
    Dreams feel real while we're in them. It's only when we wake up do we realize something was actually strange.

Re: Am I allowed to donate blood?

:wswrwb:

Do it!
    Secure few moments, everyday, to reflect upon the innumerable blessings of Allah and thank Him for bestowing them upon you.

"A person who is blessed with the ability to be grateful, shall never be deprived of barakah and increase in blessings."
    - Rasulullah (صلی اللہ علیہ وسلم)‎

Comment

Mufti Muhammad Ibn Adam:
      it would be permitted to donate and transfuse blood under the following conditions:

a) The donor is mature and sane,

b) The donor willingly donates his blood. If he is compelled to do so, it will not be permissible,

c) There is no apparent risk to the life or health of the donor,

d) There is absolute necessity in donating blood in that there is a definite risk to the life of a patient, and in the opinion of the medical expert, there is no other way of saving his/her life,

e) There is a need for it, that is, there is no risk to the life, but in the opinion of the experts, restoration of health may not be possible without it,

f) There is no alternative,

g) It is not for the sake of beatification or any other additional benefit,

h) Transfusion of blood must not be carried out by way of buying and selling, for trading in human parts is never permissible. However, if one is in need of blood desperately and the only means to obtain the blood is to purchase it, then only will it be permissible to pay for the blood. This is discussed further in the following section
      Mufti Ebrahim Desai sahib :

Q: Can Muslims donate/transfuse blood?

A: It is permissible to donate and transfuse blood if: