Tough one!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tough one!

Hi all! I'm new here. Assallamu alaykum.

I'm not a Muslim, but I'm considering very seriously the possibility of reverting. I've been investigating religion for many years now (after realising the presence of God); I've considered seriously (and "tried") Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, the Bahá'í Faith. The first of these I found acceptable, and without real issue; but I wasn't spurred on to believe them. The last of this, I simply never came to really believe in it. But all the meanwhile, I've been interested in Islam. I've read about it to no end, read every commentary (both for and against), and in the end, I still come back to it! So, I'm thinking about reverting. It's a decision that won't be taken lightly.

One thing with this; my fiancée and I (whom I'm about to marry in January) own a house together, and we're expecting a baby next year too! She's not a Muslim; she believes in God, so you could consider her Christian, but as we live together (and are unmarried), I understand this might be a problem from an Islamic point of view.

Does anyone have any advice for me? This is a bit of a pickle!

Salaam!

Re: Tough one!

Hey, A really warm welcome to the forum :)

Its made me really happy to know that you are considering Islam, and I pray that Allah guides you to the truth and makes it easy for you.

As for your dilemma.....I wont comment on for that the time being. Perhaps it would better answered by a Scholar, Insha'Allah.

I would advise you to rememeber that this is an Internet forum, where there is immense disparity amongst the posters in terms of their personal faith and expereinces, and whatever comments you do receive will quite often be a reflection of an individual way of thinking.

However, saying that we do have many many knowledgable people, or those who have been in similar situations when accepting Islam who will be Insha'allah be able to shed light on your dilemma.