A few Questions...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A few Questions...

Hi, I am a non muslim but am interested in learning a little about Islam religion and culture. I am a freshman at a University and I am writing a paper on Muslim customs particularly regarding women. I'm am unbiased and am trying hard not to be offensive, my goal is to not offend anyone. If anyone can help me please let me know. I am writing about how many non muslims believe that muslim women are "oppressed" or "have no rights" because they remain covered.. I am not one of those people, I believe that if you are happy you are happy if you aren't then do something about it but leave other people's business alone. If anyone could answer my questions for my paper I would be greatly appreciative. Thank you all.

Re: A few Questions...

how polite :D what are your questions ?

Comment

I'm non-Muslim and have never thought that Muslim women are oppressed or have no rights. I get into that argument at work all the time - a lot of people have no clue about Islam and just assume women are forced to cover up because they have no rights. I think that a religion that gave women the right to divorce 1400 years ago is pretty advanced when it comes to women's rights...it's just most people can't be bothered to actually learn about the religion, as it's much easier to just listen to and believe the media.
      My Blog: Trying To Find Faith
      My Trip Site: Destination Anywhere
      My Wedding Site: With This Ring

Comment

islam does not oppress anyone, people do.

Comment

thank you for your replies. I might just put a survey on here once I get my questions in order if thats ok? Everyone's opinions are welcome. I also believe that everything that is "bad" mainly stems from certain individuals and then many people stereotype only using those individuals rather than looking at every person. Everyone is different, in every way possible.

Comment