Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not a working gIRL

Aslam O alaikum,

i did a degree a couple of yrs back, and decided work was not for me just yet, and i was amazed by sum ppl reaction to this they couldnt believe it. Since then i have worked once but left and am currently looking for a new job. The thing that is grating me is that everytime i c an aunty they will ask me wat i do....n it is doin my nut in....wen i say im not doing nething they look at me like wat a waste......since wen did it become necessary for a girl to be working? have the roles of men and women changed that mcuh, that a girl now should also HAVE to work among many other things??? Normally im not bothered about being unemployed, i know one day i will find a job inshallah, but wat gets me down is the look on other peoples faces...i know i shouldnt care....but it still affcets me from time to time....ne advice!?

Re: Not a working gIRL

Originally posted by Thinkthenspeak View Post
    Aslam O alaikum,

i did a degree a couple of yrs back, and decided work was not for me just yet, and i was amazed by sum ppl reaction to this they couldnt believe it. Since then i have worked once but left and am currently looking for a new job. The thing that is grating me is that everytime i c an aunty they will ask me wat i do....n it is doin my nut in....wen i say im not doing nething they look at me like wat a waste......since wen did it become necessary for a girl to be working? have the roles of men and women changed that mcuh, that a girl now should also HAVE to work among many other things??? Normally im not bothered about being unemployed, i know one day i will find a job inshallah, but wat gets me down is the look on other peoples faces...i know i shouldnt care....but it still affcets me from time to time....ne advice!?
    i have also completed a degree but i dont work and havent done so since i came into islam so for around 4 years.