Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restoring a healthy relationship with one's parent

Salaam Alaikum.

I am a young student of 23 years old, about to finish my master's degree. I have already found a job, which I will start in November, insha'Allah.

My parents got divorced when I was 8-9 years old. However, it didn't change the fact that both parents treated me with love and respect (although, since I've lived at my mother's, I've always been closer to her).

I was never told about why my parents had a divorce (I actually thought it was my fault when I was younger), and my mom wanted to wait until I was 18 before telling me what happened. She told me when I was 20. I won't go into details as to what happened, but there were a couple of things that shocked me.

Of course, as with all conflicts, it's always important to hear both sides of the story, so I asked my dad to tell me his version of the story. He actually confirmed doing some of the things that were shocking. Contrary to what I expected, he didn't tell me that in an apologetic way or with any form of regret. He was actually proud of some of the things he had done, which really surprised me because I didn't think of him that way. The conversation got heated and I asked him: "What kind of example do you believe you're giving me?", to which he replied "I have nothing to show to you. I didn't want kids. Besides, you were nothing but a disappointment to me". I would like to point out again that the conversation got heated and that he most probably said that out of anger. Regardless, when I heard this I walked out.

For about a year or so, I didn't contact my dad, nor did he (despite my mom repeatedly advising me to do so). Eventually, I sent him a message, letting him know that I was sorry (since he wasn't returning my calls). I didn't get any reply. I tried to go through my father's sister, but she doesn't speak to me either.