Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Mustalahul Hadeeth & Hanafi Fiqh Class with Abu Mus'ab Tuesday from 7:30PM GMT (8:30pm BST) skype: ummahradio Show Details here. - And here

Listen Online:www.ummahradio.com
DOWNLOAD THE APP

Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Exclamation Personal Hygiene In Islam

Question: Health andHygiene in Islam: Etiquette & Practices

I am not a Muslim. I am a nursing student who is conducting a small amount of research on Islam for the sake of an assignment. I am interested in knowing the health needs of Muslims and also certain practices such as washing and praying.

Could anyone please help me with these questions?

Answer

Although your question is a bit general, I shall try to answer your query to the best of my understanding, and if there are any areas you had in mind that I did not cover, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Hygiene and cleanliness in the various domains of human life (material, spiritual, etc.) are strongly emphasised in Islam, and in each and every aspect a Muslim is encouraged to implement them. This emphasis is stretched to the extent that adhering to hygiene and cleanliness sometime becomes compulsory upon the Muslim, and in other occasions desirable (i.e. not compulsory but one is encouraged).

Some of the aspects of concern are as follows:

Personal Hygiene: