Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Ads by Muslim Ad Network

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Low self esteem

selfimage
    Guests

Icon13 Low self esteem

Salams,

I feel ugly 70% of the time and I know looks aren't everything, but having low self-esteem feels awful. I don't mean to sound conceited, but I know I'm not ugly so I don't know why I end up feeling this way. When people compliment my looks I feel like they're just lying to be nice. I never believe them. I accept compliments regarding everything else but my appearance. And no, I'm not sure that I am not ugly because people compliment me. I'm not saying this to brag, but I am sure of my looks because I come from an attractive family and I was recruited for a modeling agency before I started practicing. I sometimes think about this and I wonder if I was recruited because my sibling was and the agent didn't want to hurt my feelings by only offering a contract to them. I know this might not be true, but I realize that this shows how insecure I am. I know a lot this post sounds ridiculous, but I don't want to talk to people about this because it's embarrassing for people to know how insecure I am

Please help me, I feel like I am going to go crazy thinking about my looks. My self-esteem fluctuates alot and it's annoying and depressing. I feel like this is taking me away from Allah. It sounds ridiculous, but I've started to think about my looks more than I think about Him. What can I do to improve this? Do you think this could also be waswas?

Also, I've seen some people on this forum mention that you shouldn't get married at the moment if you have issues with the way you view yourself. Can someone please explain this? This is really important to me.

Mentioned
    604 Post(s)
    Quoted
    9198 Post(s)

Re: Low self esteem

I eish i could help but unfortunately i feel the exact same way,I've been to a therapist and it didn't help so i dont rly revcomend that