Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Ads by Muslim Ad Network


Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    061116 Rifqah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Gender
    Girl Female
    Posts
    2,734
    Mentioned
    231 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2088 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    286

    Adding RAM to a laptop



    When adding RAM, what has to be compatible?

    Can you mix DD2 with DD3 or 4?

    Mine is 16×200 can I mix with other differently numbered blocks?

    I'm unsure what has to match and what doesn't.

  2. #2

    Account Disabled

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Gender
    Girl Unspecified
    Posts
    708
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    447 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by Rifqah View Post


    When adding RAM, what has to be compatible?

    Can you mix DD2 with DD3 or 4?

    Mine is 16×200 can I mix with other differently numbered blocks?

    I'm unsure what has to match and what doesn't.


    You have to make sure you get the right size to fit into your machine.

    It is best to try to get the same specifications as what is currently in your machine, so that you don't have issues post-purchase.

    IIRC, RAM is backwards compatible, but you will be doing yourself a dis-service to buy DDR2 if you have DDR3 (or DDR3 if you have DDR4).

    The only thing that *shouldn't* (or doesn't) have to match is the amount of RAM itself : you can add an 8GB RAM to 4GB or 16GB to 4GB - but you must check to make sure your motherboard can support it (some machines can only support up to 16GB but most newer ones support up to 32GB).

  3. #3
    061116 Rifqah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Gender
    Girl Female
    Posts
    2,734
    Mentioned
    231 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2088 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    286

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by horizon View Post


    You have to make sure you get the right size to fit into your machine.

    It is best to try to get the same specifications as what is currently in your machine, so that you don't have issues post-purchase.

    IIRC, RAM is backwards compatible, but you will be doing yourself a dis-service to buy DDR2 if you have DDR3 (or DDR3 if you have DDR4).

    The only thing that *shouldn't* (or doesn't) have to match is the amount of RAM itself : you can add an 8GB RAM to 4GB or 16GB to 4GB - but you must check to make sure your motherboard can support it (some machines can only support up to 16GB but most newer ones support up to 32GB).
    Thanks sister, I'm going from 4 to 8G so it's probably okay. I've replaced the fan, battery and processor. I would have thrown it away as I loaned it out and it returned broken. I only really use my phone but fixing it has become a small hobby and a challenge too.

    I've learnt most things about it on youtube.

  4. #4
    **** sajid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Gender
    Boy Male
    Posts
    42,147
    Mentioned
    1024 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2087 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    695

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    You need a 64 bit windows version to support 8gig ram

    if you dont have this then it will only read 4gig ram and disregard the rest

    Quote Originally Posted by Rifqah View Post
    Thanks sister, I'm going from 4 to 8G so it's probably okay. I've replaced the fan, battery and processor. I would have thrown it away as I loaned it out and it returned broken. I only really use my phone but fixing it has become a small hobby and a challenge too.

    I've learnt most things about it on youtube.

  5. #5

    Account Disabled

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Gender
    Girl Unspecified
    Posts
    708
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    447 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by Rifqah View Post
    Thanks sister, I'm going from 4 to 8G so it's probably okay. I've replaced the fan, battery and processor. I would have thrown it away as I loaned it out and it returned broken. I only really use my phone but fixing it has become a small hobby and a challenge too.

    I've learnt most things about it on youtube.
    How did you manage to replace the processor? That is normally bound to the motherboard and requires replacing the entire mobo+cpu/processor

  6. #6
    Odan
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    Boy Male
    Posts
    13,373
    Mentioned
    403 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6625 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    582

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by horizon View Post
    How did you manage to replace the processor? That is normally bound to the motherboard and requires replacing the entire mobo+cpu/processor
    Some are soldered in, some are not.

  7. #7
    061116 Rifqah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Gender
    Girl Female
    Posts
    2,734
    Mentioned
    231 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2088 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    286

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by horizon View Post
    How did you manage to replace the processor? That is normally bound to the motherboard and requires replacing the entire mobo+cpu/processor
    Quote Originally Posted by zi-zizou View Post
    Some are soldered in, some are not.
    This had 4 very tiny screws and was just next to the place where you click in the memory.

    I'm laughing as I type this because I think it's a doomed project but I'm having fun and learning something, even if when I turn it on it does nothing.

  8. #8
    061116 Rifqah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Gender
    Girl Female
    Posts
    2,734
    Mentioned
    231 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2088 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    286

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by sajid View Post
    You need a 64 bit windows version to support 8gig ram

    if you dont have this then it will only read 4gig ram and disregard the rest
    Thanks, that is helpful to know. Helpful and crucial actually.

  9. #9
    Odan
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    Boy Male
    Posts
    13,373
    Mentioned
    403 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6625 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    582

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by Rifqah View Post
    This had 4 very tiny screws and was just next to the place where you click in the memory.

    I'm laughing as I type this because I think it's a doomed project but I'm having fun and learning something, even if when I turn it on it does nothing.
    Plenty of help online, you can always undo what you did to return back to the original state.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rifqah View Post
    Thanks, that is helpful to know. Helpful and crucial actually.
    It's possible to run something other than windows, Linux would be more efficient than windows so you'll get more umph out of what you already have. If you can't live without windows you can also dual boot so you have the option of running one of two different Operating systems when you power up your laptop.

    Or you can run something like Ubuntu off a USB stick just to get a taste of what it can do, without making any changes to your current setup.

  10. #10
    061116 Rifqah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Gender
    Girl Female
    Posts
    2,734
    Mentioned
    231 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2088 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    286

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by zi-zizou View Post
    Plenty of help online, you can always undo what you did to return back to the original state.
    Which would be... (pause for effect) ...broken.


    Quote Originally Posted by zi-zizou View Post
    It's possible to run something other than windows, Linux would be more efficient than windows so you'll get more umph out of what you already have. If you can't live without windows you can also dual boot so you have the option of running one of two different Operating systems when you power up your laptop.

    Or you can run something like Ubuntu off a USB stick just to get a taste of what it can do, without making any changes to your current setup.
    Thank you for this information but I have to stick with the basics right now. One operating system is enough to contend with.

    Just out of interest, why would someone want to run with a dual system like that?

  11. #11
    Odan
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    Boy Male
    Posts
    13,373
    Mentioned
    403 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6625 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    582

    Re: Adding RAM to a laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by Rifqah View Post
    Which would be... (pause for effect) ...broken.


    Thank you for this information but I have to stick with the basics right now. One operating system is enough to contend with.

    Just out of interest, why would someone want to run with a dual system like that?
    It's usually because you have some s/w that is say running on windows which is not available under Linux (and you don't like the alternatives available on Linux) so you keep the OS just for that reason or it's some other compatibility issue with school/office/uni. But for everything else you use Linux.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT. The time now is 06:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.2.7 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com

MPADC.com Islamic Web Hosting | Muslim Ad Network | Islamic Nasheeds | Islamic Mobile App Developement Android & iPhone | Islamic Web Hosting : Muslim Designers : Labbayk Nasheeds : silk route jilbab: Hijab: : Web Islamic Newsletter: Islamic Web Hosting

Students of Arabic Forum | Hijab Shop